Does Twitter’s new photo rule protect your privacy or is it just a waste of time?


[ad_1]

There isn’t much privacy when it comes to mainstream social media. Each platform has its own policies (and flaws) – but you are exposed to varying degrees no matter which one you use. The only way to truly protect your privacy is to avoid social media altogether.

It’s never too late to disconnect your accounts. Facebook and Twitter aren’t saying goodbye very clearly. We’ve put together a DIY video to help you get rid of your accounts for good. Tap or click here to watch.

Social media companies know that users want more privacy, so sometimes they throw a bone at us. Twitter now prohibits users from sharing photos and videos of other people without their consent. This extends the existing private information policy which prevents users from sharing sensitive information. Read on for what you need to know.

More privacy rules

Twitter has long banned the sharing of someone else’s personal data. The site does not allow users to post addresses, locations, identity documents (such as ID cards and passports), social security numbers, contact details such as email and telephone numbers , financial account information, medical records and / or other private information. without authorization.

Now the the policy has been broadened to include “media of individuals without the authorization of the person (s) represented”. If the person depicted in the image or video informs Twitter that they have not given their consent, the photo will be deleted.

Twitter notes that the policy does not extend to media that feature public figures when the messages are “shared in the public interest or add value to public discourse.”

Why the change? Twitter says the goal is to limit the use of images and videos to “harass, intimidate and reveal the identity of individuals.” Twitter says this behavior often targets women, activists, dissidents and members of minority communities.

So what do you do if you see a photo of yourself that you haven’t given permission to share with someone else? You can report it by pressing the three points menu and selecting Report. From there, press the buttons highlighting your issue.

The big question here is will it really do much good? There could be an immediate effect for activists and others facing real danger, but for everyone? How will Twitter be able to follow up on every reported violation with any urgency? It seems they already have enough to sort through.

Strange timing

The change in confidentiality came the day after CEO Jack Dorsey announced his resignation. Parag Agrawal, chief technology officer of Twitter, will replace Dorsey as CEO.

Just hours after Agrawal was named the new Twitter frontman, controversy erupted over a tweet he posted 11 years ago. It’s a good reminder that your past activity on any social platform can come back and bite you, whether or not it’s taken out of context.

Related: If you had a Talk account, you should delete it now

You can go back and clean up your old tweets one by one, but it can be a daunting effort. Fortunately, there are tools that can make your job easier.

Tweet helps you filter and delete your Tweets. You can save a search filter and run it automatically at regular intervals. TweetEraser works on most devices and offers a free version, as well as paid subscriptions starting at $ 6.99 for 30 days.

TweetDelete is a free online tool designed to help you delete your Twitter history. You can also set a schedule to automatically delete Tweets using the same settings. You can even delete your old “likes”. A one-time payment of $ 14.99 gets you premium access to TweetDelete.

Keep reading

Twitter Wants To Charge You $ 3 Per Month – Here’s What You Get

How to prevent someone from seeing what you post on Twitter without blocking them


[ad_2]

Comments are closed.